Injuries, Mental Processes and a Damn Good Gin Martini

This past year I have had the pleasure of dealing with the following stupid bullshit my body has been doing:

-A sports hernia that took a calendar year to heal

-Some unidentified shoulder issue that’s probably just my stupid weak arms rejecting all this strength I’m feebly trying to make them have

-Most recently, what I believe is a torn meniscus. This is a weird one. I’ve never had a knee issue before now. Shit SUCKS.

 

So, what is my strategy to come back from all of this. Well, I don’t really have one. I’m just going to systematically get all of my stuff fixed and keep moving on as best I can. Getting through my deadlift session this weekend was rough. Right before I attempted to pull an 845lb reverse band deadlift, these were the stream of thoughts I had:

Close your eyes. Take a deep breath. Focus on a happy place. Burn it to the ground. Kill your power animal. Eat every positive thought you’ve ever had and crap out what’s really going on. Dig a hole, put everything you are inside of it, pull yourself out or die in it.

That’s not something your local Amway rep or Beach Body Coach will say to convince you to start your own “website,” but its helpful when you’re so frustrated with the way things are going that you want to design a gun that shoots flaming barbells wrapped in barbwire just to fire it one time into your stupid face.

Ok done being weird. Drink this:

-4 parts Hendricks cucumber infused gin

-1 part dry vermouth

-splash of olive juice

-shake until your finer bones start spraying out of your skin

-garnish with 3 blue cheese stuffed olives

 

The only way out is through…hell yea it is.

Leave a Reply

